Lane Closures

September 3rd 2018

Phase 2 – Lane closure from Wednesday 17th October 2018 through to Sunday 4th November 2018

Phase 3 – Lane closure from Monday 5th November 2018 through to Sunday 25th November 2018

Phase 4 – Lane closure from Monday 26th November 2018 through to Thursday 20th December 2018

Phase 5 – Lane closure from Monday 14th January 2019 through to Sunday 3rd February 2019

Phase 6 – Lane closure from Monday 4th February 2019 through to Sunday 24th February 2019

15th October to 12th November

This is the current traffic management we have in place and we are now using the crossover from J27 of the M5.

The traffic management will involve lane closures, separately operated overnight carriageway closures and contraflow arrangements.

During the first few weeks of September, traffic management will be established on the east section of the scheme to construct a new crossover near junction 27 M5. This will allow traffic to run in contraflow for 2.5 km, maintaining two lanes westbound with one lane eastbound.

Traffic management plans can be found below and these will be regularly updated as work progresses.


The work on this 2.5km east section is due to be completed before Christmas and there will be no traffic management on the road over the Christmas break.

Work for the remaining 4km section will start in the new year under lane closures, overnight closures and contraflow arrangements.

The speed limit will be temporarily reduced to 40 mph to protect members of the public and the workforce and the laybys within the extent of the work will be temporarily closed.

Back to project View More Project News